Self-Esteem = Motivation

March 23, 2010

Photobucket

Personally, when trying to lose weight the most difficult thing is not seeing results as quickly as I hope to. You feel like you’re busting your ass and not eating foods you like and you still are the same ol’ you. This feeling, if you let it get to you, can put a serious dent in your motivation.

There is a strong connection between self-esteem and how self-motivated you will be about losing weight. This is why I suggest boosting your self-esteem in other ways to stay on the right track.

Following is a list of things I do to make myself feel great about me right now:

  • Wear make-up. On days I do this I end up holding my head higher. Even though it takes a few extra minutes it really does make a difference.
  • Take time choosing an outfit. Something that compliments your body right now is going to make you feel better than sweatpants and a baggy tee-shirt.
  • Go out with friends! I know that on days where I am feeling especially uncomfortable in my body the last thing I want to do is be seen my a bunch of strangers. But, seriously, once I get dressed up and I’m out having fun with by friends I feel so much better about how I look. It doesn’t matter if you’ve got a little something extra–guys are still going to be looking your way for two reasons, I believe the Black Eyed Peas referred to them as your “lady lumps”.
  • GO ON DATES! You don’t need a man to tell you that you’re beautiful, but it sure does feel good to spend time with someone who thinks you are. Don’t isolate yourself, get out and feel great. Plus, a little sex never hurt anyone.
  • Exercise. I know. I hate exercise. But sometimes when I’m feeling down a nice long walk helps me clear my head and burn calories while I do it.

Whatever you do, remember that losing weight is a process that takes time, and you want it to. If you lose weight too fast you’ll end up with saggy skin and be very susceptible to gaining it back. Take your time and feel good about who you are right now–then you’ll have the motivation to eat right and exercise.

3 Responses to “Self-Esteem = Motivation”


  1. There’s never enough data regarding this topic. Nice post that helped me a heap with my research. I’m writing a ton of similar articles. Continue with the good work.
    healthy-dieting.zxq


  2. […] when I feel like results are taking too long to be apparent to me. Just like the post I wrote on Self Esteem, I think anything you can do to make yourself feel better right now only helps you stay focused for […]


  3. […] a year ago I made this post about tips I use to boost my self-esteem. Lo and behold I am still using these, and some new […]


Leave a Reply

