Drunk Dieting

March 24, 2010

Photobucket
As a fellow dieter, or perhaps simply an interested party, you’re probably well aware that drinking alcohol is not exactly helpful to weight loss. I find this particularly hard as an of-age college student. My social life revolves around booze–parties, clubs, bars, etc. Before I changed my eating habits I was drinking 3 or 4 nights a week. I wasn’t getting drunk every time, but because my tolerance was so high, I was throwing back around 3 drinks a night. That’s an average of 12 drinks a week at the least!

Obviously, I had to modify that habit to be successful in my weight loss. Here are some ways I’ve found help me when cutting back:

  • Tell your friends why you’re cutting back–you’ll need to expect some Friendly Fire, because it makes people feel awkward when they’re drinking and you’re not.
  • If you’re out at a club order a faux drink. I get club soda with lime. People don’t ask me why I’m not drinking because I’ve got a drink in my hand, and the best part is: it’s free. Do tip the bartender, though!
  • At parties: bring your own drink. It’s extremely normal to see people toting around Nalgene bottles of mixed drinks at college parties. I throw some Crystal Light and a few limes in mine and no one asks questions.
  • If you choose to drink pay in cash. Only bring enough money for two or three drinks and stop once you’ve spent it. When I do choose to drink, which is about once a month, I stick with gin and club soda. It’s low in calories, has zero carbs, and I happen to really like the flavor. This may not be the case for you, but diet soda or club soda, and any clear liquor are going to be your best options.
  • Lastly, plan social events that don’t involve drinking. Plan walks or watching movies with the people you love–rather than meeting at a bar. It’s nice to get away from drinking as the focus of social interaction, and it’s nice to actually spend daylight together.

It’s important to let yourself enjoy drinking once-in-a-while. Just keep in mind that you don’t HAVE to drink just because your friends encourage you to. Your body burns off alcohol before it can burn your stored fat, so drinking only on rare occasion helps ensure you aren’t stalling your weight loss.

5 Responses to “Drunk Dieting”

  1. Carina Says:

    Because I like your slurry voice.

  2. figurefinder Says:

    I see you found my blog!


  3. […] by 3LW). This weekend was a rough one for me. I know I’ve talked about loss of motivation and drinking in the past, but cheating specifically is not something I have really covered yet. Mostly because I […]


  4. […] posted about drinking and dieting before, but not really about the associated consequences. This past weekend I had a friend visiting […]


  5. […] Drunk Not Fat is about to change my life, and hopefully yours. I’ve posted a few times about drinking and diet. They really don’t go together, but if you like to go out on the weekends (or weekdays, […]


Leave a Reply

