Gizmos & Gadgets

April 4, 2010

PhotobucketI’d like to start this post off by stating that I don’t believe it’s possible to lose fat from specific parts of your body. The only way to lose fat is to diet and exercise, and lose weight overall.

That being said, I have to admit I am quite a fan of exercise gadgets and wanted to share/review the gizmos I currently use. You may be confused now; asking, “why are you wasting your time/money on these gadgets if you can’t lose weight in target areas?” The answer is really two-fold: first, I do believe you can tone muscle in target areas, and two, I think it’s mental. I can only diet and workout so much, but using a gadget for twenty minutes makes me feel like I’m doing something to make a change and that mental state gives me willpower and self-control.

My favorite gadget is probably the weirdest one that I own: the Tonic Roller which I purchased to help reduce the appearance of cellulite on my thighs–my biggest problem area. Before I bought this tool, I was using my hands and lotion to massage my thighs, which actually was helping them look smoother, but it was making my hands hurt really badly. This device definitely works if you want your legs to appear smoother, but it doesn’t actually make you lose weight or gain muscle tone. Also, you have to use it every day for a reasonable amount of time to see results. I use my Tonic Roller for 40 minutes, 20 on each thigh.

Speaking of thighs, I also own a generic Thigh Master which I use daily on my inner thighs. The one I purchased came with suggested exercises for other parts of your body, but I’m not really a fan of them. Combined with my walking and other exercises, the thigh master definitely helps with my ever-so-slowly developing muscle tone. I use my thigh master twice a day for about 30 minutes each session.

Lastly, on a whim I purchased a Neckline Slimmer. My mom has a very lose jawline (she is not overweight, it’s just lose muscle and skin) and I have a constant fear that this will be my fate. I have seen results, but it’s really hard to tell if the Neckline Slimmer is actually causing them or not, since weight loss obviously reduces double-chin visibility and thins your face. Either way, I use it for about 20 minutes, twice a day.

The point of this post? I’m not saying these gadgets are necessary for weight loss, at all. But, they help me fill idle time when I feel like results are taking too long to be apparent to me. Just like the post I wrote on Self Esteem, I think anything you can do to make yourself feel better right now only helps you stay focused for the long run.

Leave a Reply

