Debbie Downer

April 5, 2010

PhotobucketDepression is an interesting thing. I really don’t know how to approach this issue, but I know that other dieters must deal with it, so I’m going to try my best to convey my feelings toward depression and dieting. I am not clinically depressed, but I definitely have a few days a year that I can hardly bear getting out of bed–sometimes I don’t. Last week I had what I call a “bad day” sparked by my appearance and I think it’s really important to acknowledge not only that depression occurs, but it also make it into something constructive…This is not my first time dieting by any means. I have been obese since puberty hit in early middle school, and I have been very aware of what I have been putting into my body (the good and the bad) since then. Even when things are going very very well and I am making great progress, there are some days where I catch myself in the mirror and absolutely hate what I see. I don’t know how to explain it, but last Friday I saw myself exactly as I was at my highest weight–it was as if every flaw was emphasized. In the past, days like Friday have sparked me to lose self-control and eat an entire pint of ice cream, or a giant meal from McDonald’s. Thankfully, I didn’t take my rage out on food, but instead was in a foul mood and picked fights with the people I love dearly. I don’t know that this will ever stop occurring (the depression, not the fighting), but I think it is important to try and curb the negative effects “bad days” can cause. So, I’ve brainstormed some tips that I am going to try the next time depression strikes:

  • Workout immediately–I ended up going for a short walk Friday evening, but really, I would’ve probably felt much better had I just hit the pavement in the morning when I noticed I was feeling down. I’m definitely going to try this next time.
  • Talk to someone you love–I did this eventually, but only after I blamed him for things and cried. A lot. Your friends and family want to support you and sometimes this means putting your pride away and telling someone when you feel down.
  • Don’t drink–I definitely had a cocktail. It did not help. Instead all of my insecurities felt magnified.
  • Divert yourself–Make small goals throughout the day to accomplish tasks. I NEED to do this when I am depressed or else I end up laying in bed all day. Showering, making breakfast, homework, all of these things can be broken into small tasks which are doable if you nudge yourself a little.
  • EAT–I can’t stress this enough. When I am upset I do one of two things: I eat 3,500+ calories of sugar and fat or I starve myself. Neither one of these is healthy and neither actually makes me feel better. The next time I’m feeling a severe loss of motivation, I am going to make myself a hot meal.

I hope that some of these tips help you when you’re feeling down about weight loss. It’s so odd that one measly day in one’s whole lifetime can do so much damage if you let it. If you do hit a day where you’re feeling like a Debbie Downer try to take it one step at a time and remember that you’ll probably feel much better tomorrow. Even if you do spend a downer day with Ben & Jerry, just pick yourself up tomorrow and keep moving forward. One lost day does not have to mean a lost diet.

4 Responses to “Debbie Downer”

  1. Jacob Black Says:

    Um… I listen to music and don’t talk to anyone or I take a nap when I’m a Debbie Downer, or I just take it out on Edward, which is what is trying to be avoided. But I defiantly will want to binge eat too so thanks for the tips.


  2. […] and Playas Gon Play by 3LW). This weekend was a rough one for me. I know I’ve talked about loss of motivation and drinking in the past, but cheating specifically is not something I have really covered yet. […]


  3. […] 10, 2011 I wrote a post when I first started this blog about feeling down while dieting. That post was more about feeling […]


  4. […] posted before about feeling down while dieting, and I’d sort of like to revisit this topic. Not so much feeling depressed about your own […]


Leave a Reply

