Can You Run a Marathon?

January 27, 2011

PhotobucketI know I have’t trained for distances longer than 10 miles, and I haven’t even done that recently. But, according to blogger Andrew Gertig you may not have to. He managed to run the San Francisco Marathon is less than 4.5 hours without training. He doesn’t recommend this to others, but it is an amazing feat. Kudos to you Andrew!

I started running about 8 months ago, and loosely followed the Couch to 5K program idea, not allowing myself to run too much at first, alternating walking and running, and easing into constant running. I may be able to push though a marathon now, but there’s no question I wouldn’t have made it a mile this time last year.

Photobucket

My sister and I, December 2010

My sister and I have been discussing training for a marathon this year, though. I’m sure I’ll have a lot to share about that experience if we decide to go through with it.

Leave a Reply

