Review: Zeno Hotspot

May 3, 2011

PhotobucketLike many people who were told acne gets better with age; I am living proof it does not. I have a theory that people don’t “grow out” of their middle and high school awkwardness, but rather, they learn how to deal with their flaws so they are better hidden.

Regardless of weight and progress, it can be really difficult to feel good about yourself when you have pimples, and for some reason my face prefers to look like a bowl of spaghetti-os, than creamy porcelain.

Perhaps the scariest part of this product review was my willingness to post a photo of myself using the Zeno in progress (sans makeup). I got my Zeno on May 2nd, and used it for the first time on a couple problem pimples that night:

Photobucket

First Use, May 2nd, 2011

Keep in mind that I already use Proactiv twice daily and also Kiehl’s Sodium PCA Oil-Free Moisturizer, so any pimples that make it past my routine hygiene efforts are usually hormonal, stress-induced, and difficult (usually very hard, knot-like bumps, that are painful and take forever to surface).

I used the Zeno (photo above) last night after washing and toning my face (but before applying leave-on lotion). When I woke up this morning the two spots that were hard, but invisible were gone, but the spots that were red and painful looked about the same, maybe slightly more raised.

Photobucket

2nd Use, May 3rd, 2011

So, after my shower I used it again on the red spots and went on to work. About four hours later on my lunch I noticed that all three spots had come to a head and looked about ready to pop. Unsure of whether I should pop them or try the Zeno again…

Photobucket

3rd Use, May 3rd, 2011

Yes, I brought it to work with me. By the end of the day they were still red and I ended up popping them.

So, my verdict? Well the Zeno Hot Spot worked well on the two spots I had that I could barely feel, but couldn’t see. They did seem to make the other spots come to a head much quicker than they would naturally. Was it worth the $40 I paid? I’m not sure yet. I’m not going to rely on it for pimples I can see, but I’ll try it again on the tough, under-the-skin bumps, and see if the results continue to be positive. For now, I’d say I wouldn’t buy another Hot Spot unless it really is effective on my most painful pimples. At about $0.50 a use it’ll have to be REALLY effective for it to be worth the cost.

Leave a Reply

