Drinking Distasters

May 23, 2011

PhotobucketI’ve posted about drinking and dieting before, but not really about the associated consequences. This past weekend I had a friend visiting town and really wanted to celebrate. This involved fun things like getting all girled up and ready for a night on the town in a frilly dress and red lipstick. Unfortunately, it also involved twisting an ankle really badly on the walk home and now I am unable to exercise, let alone walk around my house at any sort of normal pace.

Sure, drinking when you’re trying to lose weight is unproductive: you have to burn off the alcohol you consume before you work on any other consumed or stored calories. And, the calories from drinking carry zero (or very very little) nutritional value. Getting injured while drinking is actually counter productive. Not only did I blow my dieting efforts for Saturday, but I’ve sabotaged my ability to workout for the next few days.

Photobucket

Kate and I, May 21st, 2011

Yet another reason to lay off the drinking and focus on my exercise and eating habits. At least we had a lot of fun!

2 Responses to “Drinking Distasters”


  1. Well shucks I never want to be counter productive! I’m coming to visit again, and we’ll have to go for a fitness walk as opposed to out drinking!

  2. figurefinder Says:

    Haha thanks! It definitely wasn’t your doing, and I very much enjoyed having you here.


Leave a Reply

