Frozen Foods

June 18, 2011

PhotobucketAs much as I wish this post was about mozzarella sticks and corn dogs, I’m going to do my best to entice you about healthy options for summer. Here are a few things I’ll be enjoying during the warmer months (and not feeling too guilty about):

  • POPSICLES! Weather you’re crazy about Crystal Light, like I am, or you’re fond of good ol’ juice, homemade popsicles are cold, refreshing, and cheap to make. I bought this mold for a friend last year and I plan on buying one for myself after pay day. The options are practically endless, and again so affordable.
  • Grapes. Frozen grapes are delicious, super refreshing and cheap. Just buy a bundle and put them in your freezer, you won’t regret it.
  • Almonds. Okay, they don’t taste great frozen, but I’m throwing them on the list because they’re good for you, and it’s a great tip. If you buy raw almonds they can go rancid fairly quickly, especially in warm temperatures. Storing almonds in the freezer keeps them fresh way longer, therefore saving you the expense of throwing uneaten almonds away!
  • Banana ice cream!!! Frozen bananas alone are like candy in my opinion, the riper the better. BUT, this article from Apartment Therapy’s The Kitchn has me inspired to buy a food processor and make banana ice cream all summer long (and probably the rest of this year, and my life). Gluten free, practically no cholesterol or fat, and only natural sugar, frozen bananas can be whipped into the consistency of actual ice cream. Plus, you can add honey or peanut butter, or nuts: so many combinations.
One Response to “Frozen Foods”


  1. […] Yes, this was sweet, but way better than a giant candy cane and all natural. I posted the recipe here this last summer. GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); […]


Leave a Reply

