Fitness Profile: Sam Crow

July 8, 2011

Photobucket

Sam Crow

Dear readers,

I regret to inform you that you’re experiencing a break in your regularly scheduled blog programming to read my drivel. I apologize.

When your host asked if I would like to do this, I said sure! A bit after I asked myself why, why would I help out someone who stood me up for beverages/beer twice!? I’d like to say it’s because I’m the bigger person, but it’s really because I’m selfish. I enjoy writing and trying to make you laugh. The good news is that it’s clearly not working, so I’ll get to the task at hand.

My dear ol’ dad has said a lot of things through the years that have stuck in my head. The one relevant for this discussion came in the form of a question: How do you expect to face what life throws you if you’re on your heels? Making good smart decisions requires you to be on the balls of your feet, balanced. Needless to say, up until March(ish) I was on a two year bender of “unbalanced” with depression and stress on either side of the teeter-totter. I felt horrible, I wasn’t comfortable in my own skin and had zero confidence. I wasn’t happy.

As luck would have it, in a moment of clarity rather than self loathing, a book on the interwebz caught my eye. The title alone sold me on it: Why We Get Fat and What to Do About It, by Gary Taubes. I ordered it that day and when it arrived I read it in one sitting. What it did for me was open my eyes to my food choices. It broke down some of the most common myths that are at the basis of “modern nutrition” and also spent a fair amount of time covering how the body metabolizes fat. I was blown away… but also skeptical at first. I decided to put his wisdom to the test and see where it got me.

As it turned out, my skepticism was unfounded, or rather founded in misconceptions. I’ve never felt better. Plus my pants are starting to get loose, and that alone boosts confidence, let me tell ya. The diet is pretty much protein, high fiber greens and other veggies. People call this Atkins/nocarb/paleo and a whole bunch of other stuff. I don’t call it anything, it just makes sense to me. Added to this, I do my normal regimen of bike commuting, hiking and generally taking any opportunity to get out and move that I can. I don’t go for broke, I just set a sustainable pace, balanced.

That’s about it. I don’t have any before or after pictures, I don’t have a target weight in mind, nor do I have any goals about a beach body bound for Ibiza. I just want to live a healthy life. I’m not perfect by any means, but I’m on the right track, and I hope you are too!

You can check out Sam’s personal blog here. Thanks so much Sam for your story and I hope to include more from you in the future!

One Response to “Fitness Profile: Sam Crow”


  1. […] stomach, throughout this week. Also, I will at some point post a review of Why We Get Fat, the book Sam reviewed in his fitness profile. He lent it to me and it’s very in-line with the diet I followed to drop the majority of my […]


Leave a Reply

