To Eat or Not To Eat?

July 12, 2011

PhotobucketI’ve definitely heard both sides of this debate: do you burn more if you workout on an empty stomach? This post from The New York Times, last month, debates the issue.

One argument is that you burn more fat if you don’t have immediate fuel (breakfast) in your tummy to burn off first. The other side is that you burn the same amount of fat either way, but if you don’t eat beforehand you also burn muscle, rather than just fat.

For me this isn’t a debate. I eat before I workout because I get light-headed and nauseous if I don’t. I think not eating for 6-8 hours (while I’m asleep) is plenty of time to go without food and it is just silly to expect your body to perform well if you don’t have some food to stabilize your blood sugar in the morning.

One Response to “To Eat or Not To Eat?”

  1. Ashley Says:

    I agree with you. It’s especially important for endurance or performance athletes to eat before a workout. The workout can basically become useless if an athlete has no fuel to function properly. I always eat, even if it’s just a cup of fruit.


Leave a Reply

