Fitness Profile: Ashley Remiro

July 15, 2011

PhotobucketFirst, I would like to explain why I am giving a review of the book Intuitive Eating by Evelyn Tribole, MS, RD and Elyse Resch, MS, RD, FADA.

I have been an overeater my entire life. When I was a kid, I preferred to eat potato chips (and stuff the wrappers in the couch) rather than play outside. I thought I was healthy because I played sports. In middle school, I joined basketball and volleyball. During these sports I realized that I was not in good condition at all. This is also when I began noticing that my waist was growing quite quickly and I wasn’t even close to the same size as my friends. So, I went on my first diet. My parents were on the Atkin’s diet, so I decided to follow. Eventually the coolness of being on a diet wore off and I resumed my eating habits. These habits continued until I was a sophomore in high school.

I always knew that I would shrink my self, but I didn’t know when. It was sparked by some emotional reaction to a boy. I decided that the “appropriate” way to manage my emotions was to eat next to nothing. It became a challenge to eat less than I had the day before. After trying out for a play and not being granted the part that I wanted, I decided that anorexia wasn’t enough. I began to run. I ran every day without respite. I was dedicated and addicted. I started reading magazines which advised new running plans, different weight loss foods, and ways to reduce fat in specific places. I kept track of every single thing I ate. I remember a day when a classmate took one of my grapes (which were pre-portioned to exactly one cup) and I nearly had a panic attack. I thought my diet was under my control. I didn’t know that my diet was controlling me. After completing a year of cross country and a half-marathon, I was finally the size I wanted to be. I lost more than half of my body weight in less than a year. 215lbs down to 105lbs.

When I moved out of my parents house and into a house full of 60 college students, I dropped all of these habits. I’m not sure if I was extremely burnt out on these rituals or if I just became busy. Through my first year of college, I gained 35lbs. I tried to run. I tried to restrict my food intake. I tried to control my diet, but I just wouldn’t force myself as I had before. I was (mostly) free from constantly worrying about food and my weight. For three years, I continued these habits.

During my first year at the University of Oregon, I became motivated to lose some of the weight. I joined Weight Watchers had limited success. I dropped 22lbs, but the weight came back almost immediately after quitting the weekly weigh-ins and meetings. My thought for stopping was that I didn’t need the program because I was regularly running and I was on the UO Cycling team and the UO Triathlon team. I believed I was too active to need Weight Watchers. I was also beginning to realize that I wasn’t free from worry anymore and I was too fixated on my weight. I sought help from the UO counseling center. One of the best decisions I have ever made…

During the first session with my assigned counselor, she suggested that I read the book Intuitive Eating. I bought the book and finished it before my next weekly meeting with my counselor. This book became my guide for how to treat my body. Why? Well, because it’s an awesome book. I’ve been following the suggestions of this book for a year and a half and I am down to the size I was when I followed Weight Watchers, except I haven’t been on one single diet.

Here’s my review of Intuitive Eating by Evelyn Tribole and Elyse Resch:

The book is written by two registered dietitians who are also nutritional therapists. The basic premise of the book is to reject diet mentality and learn to eat like a child, intuitively.

Rejecting diet mentality is very difficult. It has been engrained in us through media and our peers. However, it can be done. We know how to diet, but how many of us know how to be healthy and free of a diet regime? Tribole and Resch suggest that the best ways to do this are to stop depriving ourselves. If you want a piece of chocolate cake, eat it. Eat until you’re satisfied. Pay attention to how your body feels while eating it. Pay attention to the taste and texture.Taste the delectable dessert (or breakfast). Or… You could avoid eating it and eat everything else that may kind of taste like chocolate cake until you have stuffed yourself full and still aren’t satisfied because you REALLY wanted chocolate cake. I’ve chosen to follow the advice of Tribole and Resch and eat the real deal.

Have you stopped to watch a child eat lately? Most children will ask for food only when hungry, not bored. The same children are likely to stop eating when they feel full, not when their plate is clean (meaning they can stop before if they are full or ask for seconds if they are still hungry). Children also have an internal sense of what their bodies need to function properly. It may be hard to believe, but children do become tired of sugar. They will eventually turn to protein and complex carbs to fulfill the needs of their bodies. We can eat like this too. It just takes practice. A lot of practice.

It takes a lot to reverse the ways we have been taught to diet. Tribole and Resch help the reader explore how to leave dieting patterns behind and relearn to eat intuitively. They have ten principles to help achieve this. I’ll list them, but you’ll have to read the book to better understand.

1.  Reject diet mentality

2.  Honor your hunger

3.  Make peace with food

4.  Challenge the food police

5.  Respect your fullness

6.  Discover the satisfaction factor

7.  Honor your feelings without using food

8.  Respect your body

9.  Exercise–Feel the difference

10.          Honor your health

I know this seems like a great idea… If you want to gain 100lbs. It’s not like that though. If you have weight to lose, you will lose it through the tactics explained in this book. However, the primary goal of the reader must be health. This book will not help any reader look like a stick-thin model. This book helps readers become healthy, body and mind.

I had the ten principles taped to my door and written in my school notebook. Eventually, I understood and knew them intuitively. I don’t know how much I weigh, but I know I feel pretty good and I know how my clothes fit. Intuitive Eating was the end of my fight with food and the beginning of really living.

Extra support for eating intuitively can be found at http://www.intuitiveeating.org/

One Response to “Fitness Profile: Ashley Remiro”


  1. […] you saw with Ashley last week, and you’ll read about my friend and coworker Lee tomorrow, cycling is a great way […]


Leave a Reply

