Ode to Celery

July 23, 2011

PhotobucketAnts on a log is a classic healthy snack standby that I’ve been eating (and still eat all the time) since kindergarten. I use a lot of celery in my dieting and wanted to share some of the things I often fill celery with to make it a more appetizing and nutritional snack:

  • Different nut and seed butters. Almond, pistachio, cashew and even carob peanut butters are amazing changes of pace from the original.
  • Cream cheese is great with celery if you eat dairy. I especially like the smoke salmon and chive flavors.
  • Tuna or chicken salad (or I guess egg salad, but I don’t let egg salad cause it’s just eggs wrapped in another form of eggs).
  • Spinach dip, or really any dip you would use with chips (french onion, yes please).
Celery by itself isn’t terribly nutritious, but with a topping you can create an easy, low-calorie snack that is high in protein and good fats.
Leave a Reply

