Natural Shampoo

August 3, 2011

PhotobucketWith all this focus on a natural diet I wondered if it would make much of a difference to switch to other natural products. I’m not going full-bore and throwing out my chemical stuff for non-chemical stuff, because that would be really wasteful. However, I am trying to replace things I run out of with more natural options. I started with some shampoo and conditioner.

I’ve been using Burt’s Bees lip balm for yeeeears and figured, since I already know Burt intimately (he’s always on my lips, that rascal), I may as well try his other products. I bought the Pomegranate and Soy shampoo and conditioner for volume (which I really don’t need), but it smells amazing and seems to be working really well. I immediately noticed that it doesn’t create much of a lather. This is because it doesn’t contain harsh sulfates that make all the fun bubbles. It’s weird to not have foamy hair, but still have clean hair because we’ve all grown to relate foamy lather to clean.

I even like it so much I washed my doggies with it. They usually get a vanilla oatmeal bath, which is natural, but this was a nice change of pace. I’m also realizing that I probably take much better care of them than I do of myself. Lucky dogs.

Leave a Reply

