Dieting and Anxiety

September 19, 2011

PhotobucketI’ve posted before about feeling down while dieting, and I’d sort of like to revisit this topic. Not so much feeling depressed about your own body image, but other things influencing your life that can affect your motivation to eat well and take care of yourself.

This post is going to be very personal, and I’m sort of unsure how to go about sharing, so I’m just going to write and I may edit this later. I’ve not had great relations with my immediate family in the past few years. My dad moved to the Midwest for work almost three years ago, which sparked a separation and eventual divorce between my parents. My sister and I are in very different places in life and don’t support each other or relate well right now. I haven’t spoken to my mom for over a year due to some personal issues. I don’t speak to my sister right now out of her choosing, and things between my dad and I are strained.

Most days these things don’t bother me and I just accept that this is how life is right now. It’s healthier for me to just focus on the immediate things in life: work, paying bills, seeing friends, playing with my dogs, etc. But, lately, family affairs have been on my mind a lot. Part of this may be that I got hurt recently and realized the people that care about me aren’t my family members. I am EXTREMELY thankful to have good friends in my life that care, but it was sort of hard for me to face the reality that my family isn’t really in my life anymore.

This relates to my blog because I’m finding the worse I feel, the less inclined I am to make healthy choices in my eating, and I have zero desire to get outside and exercise. I’m not exactly sure what to do to make it better. My little experience in this area tells me to push myself to get outside and move around and to keep eating well and those things will help my overall mood. I’m trying to schedule time with Sam and my friends that involves a commitment to exercise, whether it is walking or a bike ride, just something active. I also believe it’s very important for me to surround myself with people I love and that I need to open up and share how I’m feeling instead of bottling it all up.

Things may never change with my family, but my coping skills will get better with time. I just need to stay focused and know that it can’t feel this bad forever.

Leave a Reply

