Weekend Structure

October 7, 2011

PhotobucketFellow blogger Claret recently posted about difficulties of sticking with healthy decision making over weekends; post that I have no trouble relating to. Weekdays are easy, I’m at work 8-9 hours a day, I refill my 16oz water bottle repeatedly, I eat pre-packed meals (chicken breasts, greens, broccoli, hard-boiled eggs) throughout the day, and I get work done. I don’t have to think about my routine, my body has energy and stays hydrated. I even bike or walk to work and back, so I’m getting exercise, even if I don’t do additional exercise on top of that.

But, come Saturday and Sunday, I have no set schedule or routine. I can lay on the couch and watch Netflix for six hours. I can eat whatever I find in my pantry aaaaaaaaall daaaaaaaay looooong, and I can forgot to drink water and wonder why I feel so exhausted from doing seemingly nothing.

There has got to be a better way to take care of myself on the weekends. Lately, Sam and I have been running errands via bike and cooking meals together, so that’s not too bad, but I need to find a way to routinely drink water, not overeat, and stay active when there are no time constraints forcing me to do so.

Sparkpeople has some good tips. I think I may need to force myself to get outside and walk each weekend morning. I also am going to set alarms in my phone for water reminders. I know this sounds ridiculous, but you have no idea how thirsty and awful feeling I’ve been these past few weekends. I may also try to make meal plans (even if they are loose), and build in a reward. This weekend for example, Sam and I had planned to get coffee and dessert at this Greek place. If I allow myself to know that I will have that one treat and not feel guilty, it should keep me in line diet-wise for the rest of my meals. Wish me luck!

2 Responses to “Weekend Structure”

  1. Claret Says:

    Thanks for a link, you know it’s useful for me, haha. I’m crossing my fingers that this weekend would be different for us- we can do it! Good luck for you 😉

    By the way, I’m seriously considering getting a “cheat meal”, carefully planned in advance, not hurting my diet too much but allowing to get me something not fitting my diet and without feeling guilty. I was surprised to see that you’re going to do quite the same thing. We’re on quite alike roads, aren’t we? 🙂


  2. […] the past I’ve posted about the difficulties of eating right and working out on the weekends. To avoid falling off the wagon over weekends Sam and I have taken some proactive measures. We […]


Leave a Reply

