Fat Feet

November 8, 2011

PhotobucketRecently (yesterday evening) I cleaned out my closet of all the clothes that no longer fit. This is the second time I’ve done this and still just as tedious. 2.5 hours of trying on everything can be overwhelming.

One surprising outcome from this round of  purging was the amount of shoes I can no longer wear. It is well known that pregnant women often can’t fit in their shoes because of weight gain and swelling, but I had never really thought about how fat my feet were.

The whole conversation and focus on feet came from the discussion of the movie Wall-e where the humans have such fat fat fat little feet. Mine used to look like that! Now you can see tendons and bone and they look like normal feet.

The point of this post, I guess, is that every little change in my body is measurable during weight loss. I was buying size 8.5 shoes to account of the extra width of my foot. Now, in a wide shoe I can wear a 5, and in a narrow narrow shoe maybe a 6 or 7 depending on the style and brand. So, when I get feeling down about not seeing progress, here is yet another thing I can look to and remember how far I’ve come.

Leave a Reply

