Friendly Fire: Revisited

November 25, 2011

PhotobucketOne of my very first posts on this blog was about something I like to call Friendly Fire, and I’d like to take a moment to reflect on this subject.

It can be hard to be around your friends and family when you start to actually look different from losing weight. I don’t feel that I look very different because I see myself every day, but there was a time I was much larger than most of my friends and now I am smaller than several of them.

When this happens, the people that care about you, and mean well, see the change and it causes them to reflect upon their own body image, diet, and exercise habits. Often I see several of my friends that want to lose weight making poor decisions. They don’t keep me from working out or eating right, but they unknowingly say or do things that can hurt my motivation.

It is already hard to want to get up at 6am to go running when everyone else is asleep. Or, to eat salad when the person next to you is eating a delicious bowl of pasta. But, it is even worse when those same people make comments about your choices as if you are doing something wrong by caring about your health. The important thing to remember is that if these people really are your friends they don’t mean what they say, AND if it bothers you tell them about it. Your friends and family want you to succeed and if anything you can use your motivation to help them make better choices too.

Leave a Reply

