Exercising Away from Home

November 26, 2011

PhotobucketThis is one of the most challenging things for me to keep up on. Whether I’m staying at a hotel with a gym, at a friend’s house overnight, or with family, I never really want to exercise.

Not because I’m unmotivated to move around, but because it is such a hassle. I don’t want to tote along extra workout clothes, get them super sweaty, then have to pack up gross clothing and have it sit until I get home.

But, lately I’m at the point where missing a daily workout makes my whole day off, so I’ve devised some ways to get exercise in when I’m away from home.

  • If you are staying with friends or family, it’s great to ask if you can use their laundry facilities. Hotels usually have laundry services (which are expensive, but if you can afford to stay in a hotel with a gym and laundry service, you can probably afford the laundry service too).
  • If you don’t have access to equipment, the easiest type of workout is walking or running, so bring some proper shoes. I actually could bring my rowing machine if I knew I’d have room to use it, and could workout even if it’s really bad outside, but running or walking have been fine as well.
  • Invite others to come along! If you make plans to walk with someone else you are a lot more likely to get up in the morning and actually do it.
  • Keep things consistent. My only goal for this weekend is to get at least 30-minutes in doing something active each day.
Leave a Reply

