Hummus is Yummus!

December 30, 2011

Photobucket

This kids, is an action shot

As I posted yesterday, I have been whipping up gallons of hummus for myself and the lucky few I share it with (those strong enough to pull the bowl from my grasp). Here’s the basic recipe I’ve been following:

  • 1 Can Garbanzo Beans (Chick Peas)
  • 1/4 Cup Bean Liquid
  • 2 TBS Lemon Juice
  • 1.5 TBS Tahini
  • 2-3 Cloves of Garlic
  • Sea Salt (to taste)

Throw everything in the processor and pulse until it starts to break down, then run on low until creamy. I’ve made different flavors of hummus by adding in veggies, so far:

  • Roasted Bell Peppers
  • Roasted Beets
  • Baby Spinach

I usually eat the hummus with broccoli, celery or cucumber, but it’s also fab on tortilla chips and I imagine bagels. I plan to switch to dried beans (soaking them overnight) cause you can buy them in bulk for cheeeeap and there’s less sodium involved.

Leave a Reply

