2012: Michelle Becomes a Hippy

January 24, 2012

PhotobucketAlright, I’m not really in agreement with the title of this post, but I figured this subject (and part of my life) deserved blog recognition. As of 2012, I have cut back my use of soap drastically.

I had already cut my shampoo use to once a week, and I was using Burt’s mostly natural shampoo. Despite being *mostly* good for you, I realized my hair really wasn’t generating that much oil, and decided to try the baking soda route. I have washed my hair with shampoo once since the new year (cause I used a LOT of hairspray that day) but other than that my hair is clean, not-smelly, and shiny.

I’ve also stopped using bar soap to cleanse my body. Instead I’ve been making a slightly thicker baking soda mixture and cleansing my body with it as well.

Lastly, I stopped using anti-perspirant and instead I’m using a natural deodorant. My roommates joke that I’ve become a dirty hippy, but honestly I don’t smell, I’m saving money, it’s better for the environment, and much better for my long-term health. I guess now would be a good time to buy some stock in Arm & Hammer, huh?

One Response to “2012: Michelle Becomes a Hippy”

  1. Melissa Says:

    Hi Michelle,

    Congrats on your healthy changes. I’m a pseudo-hippie myself.

    Keep up the great work!

    Melissa


Leave a Reply

