Slow Carbing

February 8, 2012

PhotobucketMy coworker Aren and his wife are doing a variation of low-carb dieting called the “Slow Carb Diet“; article from Gizmodo. It’s basically the low-carb diet I do (when I’m good) except you get to have a cheat day where you eat seemingly anything you want. The idea is that you spike your metabolism when you force your body to process all that junk (presumably carbs) so your metabolism doesn’t slow down from long-term caloric restriction.

I’m not sure how I feel about this yet. I’ve never had a low-carb, high fiber diet fail me. I also work out a lot, and don’t think my metabolism really slows down much as a result. But, the prospect of being able to eat ice cream every week is pretty tempting.

For now I’m going to keep my eye on the prize and stick with a strict diet and zero cheat days. Who knows, if I stop seeing results I may incorporate a cheat day–you know–for my health and not at all because I’d like to eat a pint of ice cream in one sitting every Saturday while I watch 6-hours of Netflix or anything like that.

Leave a Reply

