Childhood Obesity via CNN

February 17, 2012

PhotobucketAs I’ve written in the “About” section of this blog, I have been overweight pretty much as long as I can remember. I mean, I’ve seen pictures from when I was 4 or 5 and I was thin, but my earliest memories from grade school involve me being very body conscious.

I had to wear womens sized clothing in middle school, and I remember the desks with the built-in chairs being very uncomfortable, so this article article from CNN really hit home.

I realize now that it is my responsibility to get my health under control–all aspects of health, including my weight. But, for kids as young as grade and middle schoolers, parents need to make healthy meals a priority and stress the importance of exercise and physical activity.

I know most people that read my blog are not parents, so I expect that this article will really only be meaningful to people like myself that braved childhood not fitting in very well (both socially and in physical spaces), but if you were a fat kid like me you should check it out.

Leave a Reply

