New Love: Body Con Skirts

February 28, 2012

PhotobucketOver the weekend I found myself feeling better (after last week’s brush with death) and with some time to kill, so I decided to try my luck shopping. Now, I’ve posted about shopping many many times before, and would like to again reiterate that buying yourself new clothes while losing weight is very important. It’s very exciting to put on your jeans and find that you have extra room, but if you keep wearing clothes that are too big you start to feel frumpy and actually hide the progress you’ve made. Side note: pants are effing expensive and also impractical if your body is in a constant state of flux.

Cut to my new favorite item of clothing in the world: body con skirts. They’re called this because they contour to your body, but most importantly they are cheap, flattering tubes of stretchy fabric that are comfortable AND will fit for a long time. If you sew you can whip these up with a few simple seams. But, even if you don’t you can find them EVERYWHERE (Forever21, Charlotte Russe, Target, Wetseal) for about $10-12 a piece.

I bought my first body con skirt last summer and despite being probably 20lbs less now, it still fits and flatters just like the day I got it. Plus, as I continue to lose inches, it won’t be too difficult to take-in at the sides. I’ve been wearing this skirt 3-4 times a week, with tights for winter, both to work and out with friends, and it is so comfortable–I ended up buying three more this weekend. They are easy to dress up with a button-up blouse or a sweater, or to dress down with a more revealing tank top (and if you pass out drunk in them they are fairly comfortable to sleep in as well–not that I’ve ever done this or recommend passing out on couches while watching Netflix at 5am).

So, if you’re in the market for weight loss friendly clothing, strike while the body con skirts are hot. There are few things as affordable and flattering.

Leave a Reply

