Racy Ladies

April 17, 2012

Photobucket

Me and Chess, April 15th, 2012

I’m proud to announce that over the weekend I completed my first race! My friend Chess (who is also running H2C) and I completed an 8k/5k for Autism Awareness. She ran the 8k, and I the 5k.

Things I learned:

  1. Running in races is really fun and not scary like I had made it out to be in my head. I found motivation in the other participates and volunteers that I definitely don’t have when I run alone.
  2. I need to run more often if I’m going to expect this of my body. Not running for three weeks and then running a 5k (after being sick for a week) is a little rough.
  3. I definitely need to increase my speed–especially for Hood to Coast. 39:58 minutes for a 5k is not going to cut it.
  4. I want to register for lots more. Yay races.
Photobucket

Me and Chess with our numbers!

I think my favorite thing about running is that I can allow myself to have some carbs before and after. I feel like this might sound really sad, but my diet has been pretty darn strict lately and rice with dinner the night before this race was probably the highlight of my weekend. I’m half-Asian, guys, I MISS RICE. Basically, if I run more I can eat more rice, yes?

2 Responses to “Racy Ladies”


  1. […] I mentioned after my first 5k, one of the things I miss most is rice. Included in the laundry list of meals containing rice that […]


  2. […] been getting a little racy lately (okay, let’s face it, I’ve always been racy, but this is a play on words here), […]


Leave a Reply

