Climb Every Mountain

May 1, 2012

PhotobucketToday’s post is a two-fer. I wanted to post a Lyndsi approved breakfast/pre- or post-workout meal, or dessert. This isn’t currently on my meal plan, but I have tried it, and will be adding it next week (burning out on the protein pancakes).

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup Greek yogurt (you can do a whole cup if you’d like)
  • 1/4 cup oats (again, you can double it)
  • 1/2 cup frozen berries (or fresh if in season)
  • Optional: agave or honey to taste (I leave this out)

Combine ingredients and devour! For the smaller serving without sweeter you’re looking at 180 calories. I find the berries are sweet enough to skip over needing the additional calories.

Now, onto some easy cardio. Between weight lifting sets I often do mountain climbers as a way to keep my heart rate elevated so I get both an aerobic and anaerobic workout. You can count or time yourself for 30, 45, 60 or even 90 seconds. This is also something that’s super easy to do at home between sets of self-weight bearing exercises like: push-ups, crunches, squats, planks or lunges.

*Title inspired by The Sound of Music. I’m such a sucker for old musicals.

2 Responses to “Climb Every Mountain”

  1. Lyzi Diamond Says:

    I have been loving the mountain climbers. One of the bodyweight workouts I do involves doing 50 on each side… phew! I usually break it up into 3 sets of 20, 20, and 10, with pushups after as a sort of cool down. If you’d like, I can share with you the three workouts I’ve been working up to, just for comparison?


Leave a Reply

