Mirco Goals

May 3, 2012

PhotobucketI met with a friend for coffee yesterday afternoon and among many other topics, one focus of our conversation was weight loss. She expressed feeling overwhelmed by the thought that she needs to lose about 70 lbs to be healthy.

Weight loss is really overwhelming when you look at it big-picture. Whether you’ve got 10 or 100 lbs to lose, the whole amount right now seems impossible. Healthy weight loss is 2-3 lbs per week on a consistent basis, and guess what, 2-3 lbs on the average person isn’t exactly noticeable. So, how do you stay motivated when the end goal seems impossible? Set much smaller, less intimidating micro goals!

An example I used recently was only a week long: If I run 5 mornings out of this week I get a dark chocolate bar. This was beneficial for a few reasons, first, I got outside and ran (which I need to be doing anyway), and it was easier to not cheat all week because I knew I had a treat coming. And, I had an end date–I didn’t make my goal to run 5 mornings a week forever–that would seem REALLY daunting, instead I just committed to one weeks time.

You can set micro goals for anything: if I stick to my meal plan all day I get a sugar-free pudding for dessert, or if I walk or ride my bike to work I get to buy a coffee. The shorter more attainable you make your micro goals, the better results you’ll see over time. I’ve now lost 90 lbs, and I’ve still got more work to do. I feel extremely overwhelmed and frustrated when I think about the big numbers–but setting tiny goals with more immediate pay-offs keeps me on the right path.

I’m now on Facebook and Twitter, follow me at:
https://www.facebook.com/FigureFinder
https://twitter.com/#!/FigureFinderMH
3 Responses to “Mirco Goals”


  1. […] week I talked about  setting mirco goals, because long-term goals can seem overwhelming. This morning while running I realized that since […]


  2. […] because you don’t believe in yourself I challenge you to try and tackle it this week. Start small and chip away at your big goal slowly. I think you’ll be surprised what you’re capable […]


  3. […] night I reached a milestone I hadn’t even planned on–unlike my other goals. My whole life I’ve been heavy for my frame, and I’m a very pear-shaped lady, so most […]


Leave a Reply

