Increase your N.E.A.T. for Real Results

May 8, 2012

PhotobucketI’ve written about this before, but a subject I really want to revisit today is N.E.A.T, or non-exercise activity thermogenesis. Right now I workout once or even twice a day, but before I had a gym membership I was rapidly dropping weight due to increasing my N.E.A.T. What does this mean exactly? Well, basically increasing the amount of calories you burn in your everyday life when you’re NOT exercising.

See, I have a lot of friends who say they don’t have time to workout and justifiably so. They are single mothers, friends working two or three jobs, and people stretched so thin between school and work that they hardly have time to cook a hot meal.

So, how can you see results if you don’t have time to workout? Well, increasing the amount of calories you burn is pretty easy once you form new habits in your everyday life. We’ve all heard you should take the stairs instead of the elevator, but there is actual science to back this up. If you can find opportunities to walk instead of drive, or do anything manually that you would normally rely on a vehicle or machinery to do, you will see results over time–even if you don’t change anything else in your schedule or diet.

Last year I started riding my bike to work. It actually saves me a little time over driving, and even without being on a strict diet I saw results. I also try to take every opportunity I can at work to run errands on foot or even just get up from my desk to walk across the office instead of sending an email. I also sit on a fitness ball as a chair, so my legs and core are engaged when I’m working. Where in your day can you increase your N.E.A.T.?

I’m now on Facebook and Twitter, follow me at:
https://www.facebook.com/FigureFinder
https://twitter.com/#!/FigureFinderMH
Leave a Reply

