THIS IS SPARTA!

May 9, 2012

Photobucket

90lb Drop

In prep for the Dirty Dash in July, Lyndsi ran me through a timed workout they use at Genuine Fitness called the Spartan 300. The idea is that you do 300 reps of these different lifts in as fast a time as possible. Here’s what the lifts include (for women):

The pull-ups were assisted and the push-ups were from my knees, the deadlifts were with 95lbs and the snatches with 25lbs. My time was 37:53 which isn’t impressive. I mostly spent a lot of time standing in front of the box jump psyching myself out. But, I’m going to try it again in a month and see how well I do. I’ve heard people usually cut their first time in half, and I know I’ll be both lighter and stronger by then. I must say I haven’t felt this accomplished after a lifting workout before–it was very similar to the way I felt after running my first race.

As promised, I’ve included a before and after of my famed Cinco de Mayo shirt. Enjoy!

I’m now on Facebook and Twitter, follow me at:
https://www.facebook.com/FigureFinder
https://twitter.com/#!/FigureFinderMH
2 Responses to “THIS IS SPARTA!”

  1. Claire Says:

    Michelle, Your progress has been amazing, and you look fantastic; I’m so jealous! I’m still working on my goal, I’m down 10% body fat and all your posts have really gotten me into thinking beyond the small changes I’ve made, which has been better eating, and increasing my NEAT (didn’t know there was a name for it). Also I thought about the getting creative with exercise, and we’ve been doing weekend hikes, both me and the puppy love it! (Boyfriend keeps getting poison oak, so I’m not sure he’s such a fan, but still seems to like it) It’s nice how it doesn’t feel like exercise when I’m running through a field chasing the puppy and butterflies! I’m hoping to follow your suit soon, and get up and go run/power walk before work, and try to get into a 5k… (daunting and terrifying to me, since I finally ran my 1st mile w/o walking last Oct, and haven’t really kept up since then; the holiday’s crushed me…pretty much had to start over).

    • figurefinder Says:

      Thanks for your comment! Running was really hard for me to break into and there were (and still are sometimes) a lot of walking breaks. The important thing to remember is that you’re aiming for perspiration NOT perfection. If you are outside moving around you are making a difference in your health and wellness, and that is all that matters!


Leave a Reply

