Rough Days

May 11, 2012

PhotobucketThis morning has not been an easy one for me. After the Spartan workout I did on Tuesday, my upper back has been fiercely locked up and crampy. On top of that I’m passing kidney stones, so I just feel like crap. But, I’m posting because days like today can easily derail fitness and weight loss progress if you let them. The good news is, you don’t have to fall victim to yourself.

The first thing I wanted to do when my alarm went off this morning was to call in sick to work, and go back to sleep. Why? Because I am in so much pain, but guess what, it’s going to hurt regardless of where I am or what I’m doing. I laid on the heating pad until my muscles were limber enough for me to move around, got up and went for a run. Trust me, I realize this sounds insane, but here’s why I needed to run:

If I let myself call in sick I would’ve laid around the house all day, probably over-eating and definitely not exercising. I  struggled through that run. It was slow, I had to take walking breaks, and I felt terrible. But, it got me up and moving! Compared to running, sitting at work doesn’t seem so bad. And, the running helped get some endorphins moving around in my brain which naturally helps ease some of the pain that I’m feeling.

I also NEED to break the habit of babying myself with cheats when I don’t feel well. When I’m home sick I let myself eat comfort foods (CHEESE). But, if I eat crap right now it’s not going to make me feel better, it’s just going to make me feel worse. Despite the pain I need to stick to my diet and within my calorie limit, especially if I am going to be doing less exercise because I feel ill.

It’s important to remember that everyone has rough days. If things are really bad I definitely suggest seeing a doctor (I pass stones all the time, so this isn’t really a concern for me), but just remember that cheating on your diet, or giving yourself an excuse to be absolutely sedentary isn’t doing yourself any favors. Today I am going to feel like crap no matter where I go or what I am doing, I might as well make it the best day it can be despite the circumstances. In the words of my former roommate Ashley, “keep calm and carry on.”

Leave a Reply

