Half-A-Resolution

May 15, 2012

PhotobucketI’ve posted numerous times about New Years Resolutions. Despite my distaste for them, I made a few this year, one of which is getting into yoga, and yesterday I tried yoga for the very first time.

I was nervous because my body isn’t terribly flexible and my gym doesn’t have a class for beginners, but my friend John insisted that Paul, the instructor at Oakway, was awesome and encouraged me to go for it.

Here are my feelings on yoga in a list format:

  • It’s definitely not as difficult as I had expected
  • Despite being a group class the experience was very individual
  • I need to be more patient with my body
  • I am capable of a lot more than I thought
  • I need to keep going to see improvement
I plan on attending class again tomorrow. There were only two poses I had trouble with and those were more of a lack of balance (which I think will come as I grow more confident) and not a lack of flexibility. Overall I would say it was a really good experience and my muscles definitely feel better than they have since I’ve been training this hard. It’ll be awhile before I’m enrolling in Bikram’s Teacher Training, though.
 
I’m now on Facebook and Twitter, follow me at:
https://www.facebook.com/FigureFinder
https://twitter.com/#!/FigureFinderMH
2 Responses to “Half-A-Resolution”


  1. […] have recently learned how to stretch and even started exploring the practice of yoga, but somehow I’ve managed to overlook the most therapeutic activity I’ve learned […]


  2. […] folks, so I got all hyped on yoga and went a little too far last night. We were wrapping up class and in the pigeon pose and I was […]


Leave a Reply

