Run Intervals: Increase Speed

May 15, 2012

PhotobucketI’ve been getting a little racy lately (okay, let’s face it, I’ve always been racy, but this is a play on words here), and I’m consistently able to run 5k, without taking any walking breaks. This is all well and good except that my race time is sloooooooow. In an effort to try and improve this by the time I’m running longer races I’ve been doing a bit of research (i.e. googling) and came across this post from SportsLog.com about running intervals.

Sure, I’m familiar with intervals, that’s how I started running in the first place. I’d walk to warm up, jog for a few minutes, walk to catch my breath, rinse and repeat. But, jog to faster jog intervals you say?

Apparently pushing your body at a faster pace helps teach your muscles and joints that you are capable of moving faster. So, jog to warm up, jog faster for a few minutes, slow back to race pace to catch your breath, etcetera etcetera etcetera.

I actually tried this technique this morning and reduced my 5k time by about two minutes. I’m going to keep it up this week and see how much of a difference it makes on Saturday at the 105th Rhododendron Festival Run, where hopefully I’ll bust out my fastest 5k time yet. Also, if you live in the area it’s not too late to register for the Rhody Fest Run!

I’m now on Facebook and Twitter, follow me at:
https://www.facebook.com/FigureFinder
https://twitter.com/#!/FigureFinderMH
2 Responses to “Run Intervals: Increase Speed”


  1. This is is very true. No matter the race whether it is a 5k 15k or Marathon even, it is important to do interval/speed work. I would caution you against doing this everyday as there is recovery time to be aware of, but throwing this in to the routine is great. It mixes things up and gives you something to look forward to. I am a fan of variety and lets face it, when you are out there putting in 5, 6, 7+ miles at a time it really is nice to mix things up and keep it interesting.

    “She’s going the distance! She’s Going for speed!”

  2. figurefinder Says:

    Yeah I won’t push myself for intervals every day. Tomorrow and Friday will just be straight jog days, but I’m excited to see how even a few sets of intervals effect my race time.


Leave a Reply

