No More Tears

May 16, 2012

PhotobucketTwo weeks ago I posted about my last update with Lyndsi in which I cried like a baby because I realized my body won’t ever fit the standards I had envisioned when I originally started this whole process. Since updates happen bi-monthly, I was due for another yesterday and again was met with mixed results–at least I didn’t cry this time.

I’m down 11lbs overall since I started training at Genuine in March. I’m down 15.5lbs of fat, and I’ve tacked on a lot of muscle. I’m down in inches all around–most notably off my back. I am maintaining a 10.5 inch difference between my waist and hips. Most importantly, though, I’ve decreased my body fat percentage by 5.9% (I’m now at 30.6%, down from 36.5%).

These are all positives, and I know I shouldn’t expect to see the weight fall off. The whole reason I came to Lyndsi in the first place was because I’d hit a plateau and wasn’t seeing results on my own anymore. It’s just hard to eat strictly and kill it in the gym everyday only to see a 2lb net loss in two weeks time. The important thing for me to remember is that I am seeing results and moving in the right direction. It may take another year to get myself to 18% body fat (my goal) at this rate, but that’s still something, and I am going to celebrate the progress no matter how small the steps may be.

We also decided that I’m going to try eating more calories because I’ve been working out so hard. So, 1500-1600 cals a day is the new goal. I’ll do a quick weigh-in on Monday to see if the change helps at all, and I’ll post my meal plan for this week later today.

7 Responses to “No More Tears”

  1. Claire Says:

    Michelle, Sometimes the crappiest things are realizing that our vision was a vision, although a motivator. But you mention about your progress since working with Lyndsi, I think you need to give yourself more credit, this has been a huge journey for you! You’ve made tremendous progress since the VERY BEGINNING, gotta remember that! Plateau’s really suck, they’re usually where I screw up, I applaud you for really driving your heels in and working harder through them, a lot of us aren’t good at doing that. You set that vision in your head, and got moving towards it! That’s awesome and you’ve made huge progress. All great do-ers end up realizing that visions need to be re-evaluated because we learn along the way the reality of the situation. I think upping your calorie count is probably a good idea too, 1200 cals + all your work, might be tricking your body into a semi-survival mode…

    Keep up the great work! I’ve been reading your blog since you’ve started it in 2010, you’ve lost a lot more than the 11lbs since starting at Genuine, remember that, and keep going! (I’m doing long lunch walks, and once I can put a leash back on my dog next week (skin scabs) we’re doing morning walks..maybe some jogging)

    • figurefinder Says:

      Claire,

      I remember when you first told me you were reading my blog, and you have no idea how much that meant to me! I’m so thankful for your kind words and I’m really happy to be reminded that this process is more than the last two months. It has been yeeeears and I still have quite the journey ahead of me.

      Also, poor doggy! I’m sure he or she is going to be excited to get back out there with you! Lucky you with sunshine for lunch walks, I need to make myself take breaks to get outside and move around during the workday–you’ve inspired me!

  2. Janna Marga Says:

    You are such an inspiration! Stay strong!!

  3. Lyndsi Says:

    you are doing phenomenal! Your body has changed TREMENDOUSLY since we started! Keep in mind a healthy weight loss goal is 1-2 lbs/week!!! You are right on track! I know it feels like it’ll take forever at that rate but I promise, it’ll all be worth it and IS worth it even at this very moment! I am certain we will see continued results with the calorie change as well! Keep up the amazing work! I know how hard it is! It’s taken me 10 years to get to where I am today…. Oh crap! I’m almost 30…. So make that 12 years!!! Lol! Xoxo


  4. […] knee right now I may cause a worse injury which would hinder my activity levels long-term. So, even though I’ve been feeling frustrated with my weight loss progress lately, I’m going to take it easy and R.I.C.E. for a couple days. I’m now on Facebook and Twitter, […]


Leave a Reply

