Healing with the R.I.C.E. Method

May 17, 2012

PhotobucketAlright folks, so I got all hyped on yoga and went a little too far last night. We were wrapping up class in the pigeon pose and I was suddenly able to bend forward much deeper than I could on Monday. Oh hey guys, I’m already getting way better at yoga and it’s only my second time. WRONG. So, I over-stretched my left knee, and today it feels like the tendons and ligaments are twisting when I walk. I’m not in pain, but I bet I would be had I got running this morning.

After some research on the subject, it looks like the best way to handle this temporary, but annoying injury is the R.I.C.E. method. Rest, ice, compression and elevation. At this point I’m not too hurt to exercise, but since I have a race on Saturday I need to take it easy until then, so cutting back on cardio (down to 30 mins today), and cutting back on running until Saturday morning–thinking the bike and swimming for now. Lots of ice and if need be I’ll wrap my knee for the race (we’ll see how I feel).

Even though I don’t really want to rest it’s really important to listen to your body. If I aggravate my knee right now I may cause a worse injury which would hinder my activity levels long-term. So, even though I’ve been feeling frustrated with my weight loss progress lately, I’m going to take it easy and R.I.C.E. for a couple days.

I’m now on Facebook and Twitter, follow me at:
https://www.facebook.com/FigureFinder
https://twitter.com/#!/FigureFinderMH
One Response to “Healing with the R.I.C.E. Method”


  1. […] I realize it’s Thursday and I haven’t posted since last week. I’m sorta in a funk, guys. Turns out I have bursitis in my left knee–most likely caused by running, but brought out by my yoga adventure last week. […]


Leave a Reply

