Fighting Fear

June 6, 2012

PhotobucketLast fall I ate it pretty hard on my bicycle and ever since then I’ve been pretty averse to attempting to ride anywhere for any reason. With the aid of new wheels and tires, and a helmet (yes, I’m doing that finally) I’m back out braving the road. A large part of this is due to my knee still being messed up and having trouble walking for extended periods of time.

Anyway, I’m not writing to tell you about how hipster I am JammyPackin‘ around town (although I totes am and it’s super adorbs), but because it’s really important to give yourself credit for overcoming fear. I used to be scared of working out in public, running in races, and now of my bike; BUT I am overcoming them and for this I deserve a pat on the back.  I may not be out Lance Armstronging the shiz out of the country roads for 80 miles, but I did make it to work and back twice today (I went home for lunch) and that’s enough for me.

If there is something you’ve been avoiding because you don’t believe in yourself I challenge you to try and tackle it this week. Start small and chip away at your big goal slowly. I think you’ll be surprised what you’re capable of, and how amazing you feel for just trying.

Leave a Reply

