First Attempt at Crossfit

June 16, 2012

Photobucket

Lance Armstrong totes swings kettle bells too.

This morning I gave Track Town Crossfit a try. A lot of the exercises for today’s WOD (workout of the day) were things I had done before: wall balls, kettle bell swings, and an array of sprints. I got hit on and followed around by some guy that reminded me a lot of Sean Penn in I Am Sam, so that was sort of a negative, but I’m trying not to let this bleed into my overall Crossfit experience.

The workout: We started with a short jog around the block to warm up, then did different sprints across the gym: high knees, butt kickers, and spider walking. Followed by 15 wall balls, a 100ft sprint, 10 kettle bell swings, and another 100ft sprint continuously for 5 minutes for three sets with one minute breaks in between.

Overall: I was surprised by the difficulty of the class. It was a good pace for me, but I’m also in the best shape I’ve probably ever been in. Lots of weight-bearing exercises while keeping your heart rate up, so it was a cardiovascular workout while also getting strength training in. I think I’ll try attending the free class for a few more weeks before I decide whether I’m going to pay for additional classes, but it was fun to workout with a new group of people. Plus, it’s so close to Sam’s apartment I feel almost guilty not participating since it is free.

Leave a Reply

