Stress Management

June 19, 2012

PhotobucketI like to take my real life experiences and turn them into blog posts for your pleasure. Unfortunately, this post is more a do as I say, not as I do lesson on (you guessed it): stress management.

I am now at an age where I’m starting to face some normal, but big decisions in my life: career goals, relationship goals, and general responsibilities that will began to shape my life long-term as an adult.

I don’t think stress is unhealthy by any means and often it is a good motivation to make positive changes in your life, but how you choose to handle stress can be where the question of health factors in.

I’m personally wrestling with the above examples I listed and used them as an excuse to eat frozen yogurt three days in a row. This is an example of UNHEALTHY stress management. Instead here are some things I’m going to do this week to help manage the stress I feel:

  • Write things down. Whether this is a journal type entry, or a list, getting ideas out can help ease my mind.
  • Listen to music. Finding music that helps connect to your feelings can be very therapeutic.
  • Workout. I want to use the rage I feel to motivate myself physically. I’m going to lift heavy things, and rage on the sidewalks around my house. Be afraid, people. Be very afraid.
  • Talk to friends. That’s why they’re your friends right? Often times they can offer a perspective you haven’t considered, or at least just a listening ear.
  • Accept the feelings. A lot of stresses can’t be fixed immediately. Instead of fixating on your problems, or trying to find immediate solutions, learn to be okay with feeling a little frustration or anxiety. If you can survive with the tension peacefully, you’ll feel better until you’ve alleviated the source.
  • Remind yourself that it can’t last forever. It won’t. Take solace in the fact it’s temporary.

Notice I want to focus on managing stress here, not fully alleviating it. Growing up is scary and this won’t be the last time I face a multitude of options that make me feel uneasy. The most exciting part in all of this is that I have my entire life ahead of me. I’m only scared because I have seemingly limitless options, and really that’s an amazing thing–as overwhelming as it may be. The world is my stressful little oyster and I’m excited to see how the next chapter unfolds.

I’m now on Facebook and Twitter, follow me at:
https://www.facebook.com/FigureFinder
https://twitter.com/#!/FigureFinderMH
Leave a Reply

