Recipe: Protein Cake

June 28, 2012

PhotobucketThis is something I’m still tweaking and so far I’ve only made a single serving for myself, but how could I not share a recipe for chocolate protein cake with you?

Ingredients:

  • 1 scoop protein powder (I used Vega because it’s what I had leftover from my vegan days, you could substitute anything here)
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 heaping tablespoon natural peanut butter (I used crunchy)
  • 1 squirt agave syrup
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • Water

Mix all the ingredients EXCEPT the water together in a coffee mug. Add water by the tablespoon until the mixture reaches a cake batter consistency. Microwave for 1 minute on high. It comes out as a light and fluffy cake similar to angel food. I plan to make a larger version of this cake in the oven this weekend for a dinner party. I’ll update with adjustments to the recipe once I have a feel for how baking with protein powder works.

Leave a Reply

